Riverside Whitewashes Warriors, 9-0, in Non-conference Match at El Camino

Riverside Whitewashes Warriors, 9-0, in Non-conference Match at El Camino

TORRANCE -- Posting its fifth shut-out of the season, the Riverside City College (RCC) Tigers men's tennis team blanked the host El Camino College (ECC) Warriors, 9-0, Thursday afternoon (March 13) in a non-conference match.

The blanking for Riverside (12-3 overall) was its third in non-conference action. With the loss, El Camino, of the South Coast Conference, fell to 3-4 overall.

"We were able to shuffle the line-up a little bit and all players stepped up to bring home the victory," said RCC head coach Jim Elton.

 "Freshman Allen Tieu got the Tigers started with a solid 'Eco Boost' performance at No. 6 singles, winning 6-3, 6-1," continued Elton.

"Yann Herve and Joffrey Fecomme were able to battle back from second-set losses to bring in victories at the Nos. 2 and 3 singles spots, with Herve sealing the team victory at No. 2 singles," concluded Elton.

The Tigers return to Orange Empire Conference play next Tuesday, Mar. 18, as they travel to Orange Coast College.  The Tigers will then face Cypress College at home on Thursday, Mar. 20, and Amherst College (MA) in a non-conference home match on Friday, Mar. 21. All three matches begin at 2 p.m.



#1        David Stanko (RCC)                d.         B. Henrickson (ECC)             6-4, 6-2

#2        Yann Herve (RCC)                   d.         A. Ya (ECC)                            7-5, 0-6, 6-2

#3        Joffrey Fecomme (RCC)          d.         C. Hoo (ECC)                         6-2, 5-7, 6-2

#4        Kane Wijngaarden (RCC)       d.         C. Fisher (ECC)                      6-0, 6-4

#5        Sergio Romero (RCC)             d.         C. Chacuco (ECC)                 6-3, 6-1

#6        Allen Tieu (RCC)                     d.         D. Sisson (ECC)                     6-3, 6-1


#1        Garcia/Stephenson (RCC)      d.         Henrickson/Ya (ECC)           8-4

#2        Herve/Romero (RCC)              d.         Reed/Fisher (ECC)                9-8 (6)

#3        Stanko/Wijngaarden (RCC)   d.         Hoo/Sisson (ECC)                 default